NCAA Division I Wresting Teams 2017=78
Big Ten (14) Big Twelve (12) EIWA (18) EWL (7) PAC 12 (5) ACC (6)
Penn State Oklahoma State Cornell Lock Haven Arizona State North Carolina State
Iowa Oklahoma American (Bloomsburg) Oregon State Virginia Tech
Minnesota Iowa State Lehigh Clarion Stanford North Carolina
Michigan West Virginia Pennsylvania Edinboro Cal Poly Virginia  
Illinois Wyoming Navy Cleveland State Cal St.-Bakersfield Pittsburgh
Ohio State North Dakota State Princeton Rider Duke
Nebraska South Dakota State Columbia George Mason MAC (9) Southern (7)
Wisconsin Utah Valley Harvard Central Michigan Appalachian State
Indiana Air Force Army Kent State Tennessee-Chattanooga
Northwestern Northern Colorado Brown Eastern Michigan
Michigan State Fresno State Bucknell Ohio University Campbell
Purdue Northern Iowa (Franklin & Marshall) Northern Illinois The Citadel
Maryland East Stroudsburg Buffalo Gardner-Webb
Rutgers (Sacred Heart) Missouri (Davidson)
Binghamton St. Old Dominion (Virginia Military Institute)



Southern Illinois-Edwardsville

9 Conferences and 78 Teams, at least 8 used to be Division II or III teams, and 5 of the Division I teams are practically non-existent (in parenthesis)

Conference Points Scored Percent All Americans Percent National Champions Conference Champion
Big Ten 586 41.56% 34 42.50% 6 Penn State
Big 12 184.5 13.09% 11 13.75% 2 Oklahoma State
ACC 162 11.49% 9 11.25% 1 Virginia Tech
EIWA 156 11.06% 10 12.50% 0 Cornell
MAC 143.5 10.18% 10 12.50% 1 Missouri
EWL 89 6.31% 3 3.75% 0 Edinboro State
PAC-12 45 3.19% 1 1.25% 0 Oregon State
WWC 26 1.84% 1 1.25% 0 Wyoming
Southern 18 1.28% 1 1.25% 0 Tennessee-Chat.
Totals-8 1410 100.00% 80 100.00% 10

Boston University to join EIWA and drop wrestling after 2013-14 season

Division I Wrestling Coaches

Division I Team Conference State
Arizona State Pacific 12 Arizona
Cal Poly Pacific 12 California
Cal St.-Bakersfield Pacific 12 California
Northern Colorado Big Twelve Colorado
U.S. Air Force Big Twelve Colorado
Sacred Heart EIWA Connecticut
Boise State Pacific 12 Idaho
Illinois Big Ten Illinois
Northwestern Big Ten Illinois

Northern Illinois

Southern Illinois-Edwardsville





Indiana Big Ten Indiana
Purdue Big Ten Indiana
Iowa Big Ten Iowa
Iowa State Big Twelve Iowa
Northern Iowa MAC Iowa
U.S. Navy EIWA Maryland
Maryland Big Ten Maryland
Harvard EIWA Massachusetts
Boston University EIWA Massachusetts
Michigan Big Ten Michigan
Michigan State Big Ten Michigan
Eastern Michigan MAC Michigan
Central Michigan MAC Michigan
Minnesota Big Ten Minnesota
Missouri MAC Missouri
Nebraska Big Ten Nebraska
Princeton EIWA New Jersey
Rutgers Big Ten New Jersey
Rider EWL New Jersey

U.S. Army




New York

New York

Cornell EIWA New York
Binghamton St. EIWA New York
Hofstra EIWA New York
Appalachian State Southern North Carolina
South Dakota State Big Twelve South Dakota
Davidson Southern North Carolina
Gardner-Webb Southern North Carolina
Campbell Southern North Carolina
Duke Atlantic Coast North Carolina
North Carolina Atlantic Coast North Carolina
North Carolina St. Atlantic Coast North Carolina
North Dakota State Big Twelve North Dakota
Ohio State Big Ten Ohio
Ohio University MAC Ohio
Kent State MAC Ohio
Cleveland State Eastern Wrestling League Ohio
Oklahoma Big Twelve Oklahoma
Oklahoma State Big Twelve Oklahoma
Oregon State Pacific 12 Oregon
Penn State Big Ten Pennsylvania
Bloomsburg Eastern Wrestling League Pennsylvania
Clarion Eastern Wrestling League Pennsylvania
Lock Haven Eastern Wrestling League Pennsylvania
Pittsburgh Eastern Wrestling League Pennsylvania
Lehigh EIWA Pennsylvania
Franklin&Marshall EIWA Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania EIWA Pennsylvania
East Stroudsburg EIWA Pennsylvania
Bucknell EIWA Pennsylvania
Drexel EIWA Pennsylvania
Brown EIWA Rhode Island
The Citadel Southern South Carolina
Tennessee-Chattanooga Southern Tennessee
Utah Valley St. Big Twelve Utah
VMI Southern Virginia
George Mason EWL Virginia
Old Dominion MAC Virginia
Virginia Atlantic Coast Virginia
Virginia Tech Atlantic Coast Virginia
West Virginia Big Twelve West Virginia
Wisconsin Big Ten Wisconsin

Pennsylvania has the most teams with 13, North Carolina has 7, Virginia and New York have 5, Michigan, Illinois and Ohio have 4 each.

669 college wrestling programs dropped since 1972

NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship Brackets from 1928-2013

NCAA Division II Wrestling Teams=55 Teams

NCAA Division III Wrestling Teams=88

Total=222 NCAA Wrestling Teams